Florida Child Restraint Requirements

Request a Child Safety Seat Installation Form

The North Miami Beach Police Department offers child safety seat installation by our certified technicians. If you need assistance with the installation of a child safety seat or any other information regarding this topic, please complete the below form and an officer will contact you to discuss your needs.

Please allow 3 to 5 days for an officer to contact you regarding your request.

Installation assistance with child safety seats is accepted by appointment only. The child must be present for the installation so the officers can configure the safety harness properly.

If you have any questions, please contact our Crime Prevention section at 305-948-2955.

Florida Child Safety Seat Laws

Florida Statute 316.613 Child Restraint Requirements

(1)(a) Every operator of a motor vehicle as defined herein, while transporting a child in a motor vehicle operated on the roadways, streets, or highways of this state, shall, if the child is 5 years of age or younger, provide for protection of the child by properly using a crash-tested, federally approved child restraint device. For children aged through 3 years, such restraint device must be a separate carrier or a vehicle manufacturer’s integrated child seat. For children aged 4 through 5 years, a separate carrier, an integrated child seat, or a seat belt may be used.